History of Pan American Softball Confederation


On July 3, 2014, the Pan American Softball Confederation (CONPASA) turned 35 years guiding the Softball of the Americas and remaining as one of the leading organizations in the world of our sport. CONPASA was founded on July 3, 1979 in San Juan, Puerto Rico, during the VIII Pan American Games, when Softball leaders from Argentina, Belize, Bermuda, Colombia, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Mexico, Netherlands Antilles, Panama and Venezuela, met with the purpose of establishing the Pan American Softball Confederation. Most of these countries were participating in Male and Female Softball competition, included for the first time in the continental Games of CONPASA in San Juan 1979. The first Board of CONPASA was elected as follows:

  • President: Ismael Villafañe (Puerto Rico);
  • Vice President: Hector Monasterio (Venezuela);
  • Secretary: Eulogio Cardona (Puerto Rico);
  • Treasurer: Eduardo Acosta (Mexico);
  • Vocal: Meliton Sanchez (Panama);
  • Vocal: Freddy Vallejo + (Dominican Republic);
  • Vocal: Joe Brown (Bermuda);
  • Vocal: Fernando Aren + (Argentina).

However, the first CONPASA Assembly was held in Paraná, Argentina, from 21 to 24 February 1980. In this Assembly the leaders also agreed to organize the 1st Men’s Pan American Softball Championship on September 1 to 10, 1981, in Maracay, Venezuela; and the 1st Women’s Pan American Softball Championship from February 27 to March 7, 1982, in Oregón, Mexico. According to its statutes CONPASA is the highest representative authority of Softball in the Americas. Furthermore, it is recognised by the World Baseball and Softball Confederation WBSC), the Pan American Sports Organisation (PASO), and is affiliated to the Association of Pan American Sports Confederations (ACODEPA).